Legalization Marijuana USA

4 States With the Strictest Marijuana Laws

Living in Colorado and other states that have passed recreational cannabis laws can make you forget that there are still some states out there that impose ridiculously strict laws for marijuana possession.

Whether travelling through the US or you’re curious to see where your state stands, it’s always a good idea for cannabis consumers to know where it isn’t cool to possess a little (or a lot) of pot. Following are 4 states with the strictest marijuana laws in the country.

The 4 States with the Strictest Marijuana Laws

1. Arizona

While medical marijuana passed in Arizona in 2010, the state is possibly the strictest out of all when it comes to possessing cannabis for personal use. If you get caught with any amount of weed in the Grand Canyon State, and you could be facing a felony.

Arizona state law says that if you’re caught with under 2 pounds of cannabis, you will face a Class 6 felony, at least 6 months in jail, and fines up to $100,000. This is lowest sentence for any amount under 2 pounds (including like less than a gram).

Intending to sell some weed on the black market in Arizona? Better beware. Those who are caught with cannabis with intent to sell or cultivate can spell out a life sentence.

3. Wisconsin

Like Arizona, Wisconsin has legalized marijuana. Get caught with some cannabis to smoke to your head however, and you better be prepared. First offense will give you a misdemeanor, 6 months in jail, and fines up to $1,000. If you don’t learn your lesson the first time and get caught again, you’re even worse off.

The second offense for possession of any amount of weed will now give you a felony on your record. You’ll also pay up to $10,000 in fines. Get caught with intent to sell and you’re looking at an automatic felony, up to 15 years in jail, and fines up to $50,000.

Decriminilazation has occurred in 9 out of 10 major cities, and many are fighting against the state’s strict laws. The Menominee Native American tribe voted to legalize both medicinal and recreational cannabis in 2010.

3. Indiana

Indiana is a state that adamantly refuses to legalize marijuana for both medical and recreational use. Get caught with any amount (even a trace) and you’re looking at a misdemeanor, $1,000 in fines, and 180 days in jail.

If you’ve got a previous offense and get caught with 30 grams or more, you’re looking at a felony, $10,000 in fines, and up to 2 ½ years in jail.

Get caught selling under 10 pounds of weed on the black market, and you’ll receive a felony plus up to 2 ½ years in jail. Try selling more than ten pounds, you’ll receive a felony, 1-6 years behind bars, and $10,000 in fines.

Something else interesting about Indiana’s crackdown on cannabis…African Americans are 3 times as likely to be targeted and arrested for marijuana possession.

4. Florida

With some of the most restrictive medical marijuana laws in the country, it should come as no surprise that the Sunshine State has some significantly stiff laws regarding personal possession. If you’re caught with 20 grams or less, you’ll receive a misdemeanor, a year in jail, and $1,000 in fines.

If for some reason you’re caught with more than 10,000 pounds, you’ll get an automatic felony, up to 30 years in jail, and fines of $200,000. Get caught somewhere in the middle (with more than 20 grams to 25 pounds) and you’ll receive a felony, 5 years in jail, and fines of $5,000.

People in Florida who get put behind bars in Florida are required to undergo “marijuana addiction treatment.” You can also lose your license, regardless if there was a vehicle involved or present when you were caught.

Leave a Comment